Sunday Post 01/07/2018

Hosted by Caffeinated Reviewer

It’s July! Where have the months gone? It only feels like yesterday that it was Christmas and now we are getting right into the heart of summer. Is it just me? or does this year feel like it’s going really fast?. Sorry there wasn’t a Saturday stacking the shelves yesterday, I had work and when I got home we watched the Portugal world cup game as Portugal (were) my sweepstake team. This week was mostly just spent in front of my laptop re-writing my dissertation draft. It’s now down to 10,000 words (after cutting my soul out along with all the side plots I’d loved writing), but due to cutting all the side-plots the ending I had no longer made sense so I had to write a new one. Which turned out to be terrible. I’ll be working on that this week and trying to improve it, but I only have 2,000 words at most to do so. Which used to seem a lot to me, but lately 2,000 words has seemed like nothing. We went to go and see a local amateur dramatics performance of Spamalot this week though which was a lot of fun. I have never seen Monty Python before, but it was definitely my kind of humour and the actors/actresses were fantastic! We’ve also had fantastic weather this week, and I have got a (kind of) tan! Which I am really proud of, as my pale skin rarely ever tans. I hope you all have had a good week too, let me know what you’ve been up to in the comments below.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT…

BOOKS I FINISHED THIS WEEK…

 

39718964

Ruthless Magic | Conspiracy Of Magic #1 | Megan Crewe | Released 30/05/2018

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!

I hope you have all had a good week, and that you are having a relaxing Sunday.

Picture5

If you haven’t already, hit the follow button below to get notifications and/or emails every time I post!

7 thoughts on “Sunday Post 01/07/2018

Add yours

  1. Good luck finishing your dissertation! Mine was such a struggle in the middle of it but I was so proud (and relieved) when I finally finished 🙂 And I love Monty Python! I never got the chance to see Spamalot, but I did get to see a live show with John Cleese and Eric Idle when they went on tour last year. Hope you have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And yeah it’s getting so hard but good to know it’s worth it in the end ☺️ Unfortunately our Spamalot had no famous members in the cast, but it was still a lot of fun, I hope you get to see it at some point ☺️

      Like

  2. Ruthless Magic looks really good to me, depending on reviews I’m seriously thinking of getting that one. Hope it’s good! And yes time is flying! I looked at the date today and I was like July 1st??? Seriously??

    Good luck with your dissertation edits. I love watching the World Cup but still haven’t seen a whole game, just snippets here and there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ruthless Magic is a little slow at first but if you stick with it, it definitely picks up pace and gets a lot better ☺️
      Thanks for the well wishes ☺️ and me neither haha, I tend to watch the world cup while reading and look up whenever there is a cheer from the crowd haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Natural Skin Care Love

Naturally Beautiful Skin ... At Any Age!

Jennifer's Thoughts

for booklovers

Love for Words

I eat books and breathe stories to survive!

Fullerbelly Bakery

OLD-FASHIONED HANDMADE SWEET TREATS

Poetry collection

Work by Rain Alchemist

Pages and Brews

book-bosomed | beerocrat | dog mom | gamer |

Library of March

“The world was hers for the reading.”

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

E-Book Vault

Free E book's Reviews Digital Downloads

%d bloggers like this: