Review: Viper

BY BEX HOGAN


ABOUT THE BOOK…

Isles of Storm and Sorrow #1
Publisher:
 Hachette Children’s Group.
Genre: YA Fantasy
Number of Pages: 400
Where I acquired the Book: I received an e-ARC of this novel from Hachette Children’s Group through NetGalley. This doesn’t change my opinion and it is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinions about this book. However the copy I read was this beautiful edition on the left from Fairyloot.
Published: 18/04/2019
GOODREADS

ORDER A COPY OF THE BOOK: AMAZON SMILE

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION

He will make me a killer. Or he will have me killed. That is my destiny.

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.

He’s the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne’s father.

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves – and perhaps even her life?

MY THOUGHTS…

Pirates. Magic. And twists that will have you falling off the edge of the seat.

This book was THRILLING. It was a wild ride about a girl on a boat of assassins, with a father that no one would envy.

The stakes were high, and I loved the politics of the world and the fact that so much rested on Marianne’s shoulders, and we saw her grow over the course of the book, questioning the life she’s been brought up to live, but questioning her own morals as well.

Marianne makes some really questionable decisions, she’s lived a sheltered life and Bex Hogan doesn’t shy away from that. She sees some harsh consequences for her actions, but we watch her learn from them and learn about herself in the process.

I did get a little lost towards the end of the book, but I think this was more one me, as I went through a bit of a reading slump for a while. I out-fantasy-ed myself by reading this and ‘Children of Blood and Bone at the same time’ however the action picked up and I was drawn straight in again for the conclusion of this book.

I can’t wait to read the sequel to this book ‘Venom’ where it looks like we will be delving deeper into magic, and the lore of the different islands and I have already pre-ordered it.

I definitely recommend this swashbuckling fantasy. It’s full of beautiful friendships, thrilling relationships and so much adventure that I loved every minute spent out on the vast oceans and on the unique islands with Marianne and her crew.


I WOULD RATE VIPER:



Join 338 other subscribers

IF YOU ENJOYED THIS POST, PLEASE HIT THE LIKE BUTTON BELOW. AND IF YOU HAVEN’T ALREADY YOU CAN FOLLOW MY BLOG ON WORDPRESS, OR BY EMAIL. AND YOU CAN FOLLOW ME ON SOCIAL MEDIA 
@RACHELEANNE06.
~
INSTAGRAM
@RACHELEANNE06
@RACHELEANNEBLOG
@RACHELEANNEPHOTO

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑