Review: Sirena

BY GIDEON MARCUS

GOODREADS | WEBSITE | TWITTER

ABOUT THE BOOK…

THE KITRA SAGA #2
Publisher:
Journey Press
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Format: eArc
Number of Pages: 181
Where I acquired the Book: I received an e-ARC of this novel from Journey Press. This doesn’t affect my view and it is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinions on this book.
Published: September 30th 2021
Find the book on GOODREADS and STORYGRAPH.

THE COVER…

GOODREADS DESCRIPTION

One starship, six friends, 10,000 lives in the balance

Young captain-for-hire Kitra Yilmaz has gotten her first contract: escort the mysterious Princess of Atlántida beyond the Frontier and find her a new world. It’s a risky job, fraught with the threat of pirates, dangerous squatters, and rising romantic tensions.

Still, Kitra and her crew are up for anything — until they find a lush world, perfect for settlement… with an enormous ghost ship already in orbit.

What secret does the crippled vessel hide? And is Kitra ready to take responsibility for its precious cargo?

MY THOUGHTS…

When I was offered this book to review I jumped at the chance. The first book in the series Kitra (you can read my review here) was a thrilling, young adult science fiction novel, and I couldn’t wait to find out what the sequel had in store for us.

One of the things I did struggle with while reading Kitra was the character development. But in this book we got to know the team a lot better, and that really helped to pull the story together.

We also have the addition of a new character, the Princess of Atlántida, and the dynamics between the princess and the group were a lot of fun to witness. To make things even more awesome, she’s in a wheelchair (well, a flying space-age version of a wheelchair), and this just added another level to an already majorly diverse set of characters. Gideon represents different races, gender, backgrounds, religions and sexual orientations in his series. And now there’s this awesome, bad-ass wheelchair bound princess too.

I did find the book a little slow to start, but as soon as the crew embarked on their quest to find the Princess a new world, the story really found its feet.

The world building is fantastic, I love how Gideon explains the science as we go along, it really helps us to understand the world we are exploring. Their adventures were also really exciting to read, you didn’t know what was around the corner, and the stakes were so high in this book. As the description mentions; there’s 10,000 lives in the balance, and that made for some tense, but thrilling reading.

And can I just also add… this book is illustrated, the art really helps bring the characters and the world to life!

SUMMARY

Sirena is a cross-universe novel, full of high stakes, found family and fantastic puns. It’s perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and anyone wanting a quick read that’s packed full of character and adventure.

CAWPILE: 7.86

Rating: 4 out of 5.

READER’S GUIDE

You can support local bookshops online by buying through HIVE or JOURNEY PRESS.

If you prefer you can also order from your favourite online retailer such as AMAZON SMILE or BOOK DEPOSITORY.

You can buy the eBook through AMAZON SMILE and KOBO.


Thanks for reading!
If you enjoyed this post, please hit the like button below. 
And if you haven’t already you can follow my blog on WordPress or by email.

~

Instagram @RacheleanneBlog
Twitter @RacheleanneBlog
StoryGraph: Racheleanne06
Goodreads: Rachel


Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Thindbooks Blog

mini-blog tours, reviews, & book box book reveals

Molly's Book Nook

A Nerdy Blog

Mybookworld24

My Life And Everything Within It

Galactic Journey

55 years ago: Science Fact and Fiction

My Reading Journey

Reach for the Stars!🌌

The Gastronomy Gal

all things food and nutrition

Echoes In An Empty Room

Hannah's book blog. This is my place where I share my favourite reads and chat about books.

Vee_Bookish

YA Book Enthusiast from the UK

%d bloggers like this: